
 REQUEST FOR DEFERRED DISPOSITION  
SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION WILL RESULT IN DISMISSAL 

 

 
Printed Name:________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Printed Address:______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date of Birth: ______________ Texas Driver’s License # _________________ Citation Number:____________ 
 

I hereby plead no contest to the charge of _______________________________, waive trial by jury, and to discovery, 
and request that the court grant deferred disposition.  I understand that to qualify I must have a Texas driver’s license 

and evidence of financial responsibility (insurance).  In addition, I understand that I must pay a fine in the amount of the 
“window fine” found below plus twenty ($20.00) dollars. For seatbelt violations 15 years and over send $180.00. I 
understand also that I cannot already be on deferred disposition in the Pasadena Municipal Court for another violation.  I 
understand that I am not eligible if I am now or was at the time of the citation the holder of a commercial driver’s license or if I 
have been cited for a violation occurring in a construction zone when workers were present.  I understand that if I am under 
the age of 25, I must complete a driving safety course as a condition of deferred disposition and if I have a provisional 
driver’s license, I will also be required to retake my driving test and pay the cost thereof.   

DEFERRED DISPOSITION APPLICATION CHECKLIST: 
 

   Enclosed is a copy of my Texas driver’s license and proof of financial responsibility (insurance) 
   Enclosed is a check or money order for the amount of the fine plus twenty ($20.00) dollars except for seatbelt 

violations 15 years and over send only the amount of the window fine ($180.00).  DO NOT SEND CASH BY MAIL 
OR PUT CASH IN THE NIGHT DROP BOX 

   I am not presently on deferred disposition in this court 
    I do not have a CDL, nor did I have a CDL when I was cited 

   I was not cited for a violation that occurred in a construction zone when workers were present 
  If I am under 25 years of age, I understand that I’ll be required to complete a driving safety course as an additional 

condition of deferred disposition 
   If I have a provisional driver’s license, I understand that I’ll not only have to complete a driving safety course but 

retake my driving test as well 
 
_________________________________________  ___________________________________ 
                            Signature      Date 

Your application will be accepted by mail or in person at the Court’s transaction windows. 
 

WINDOW FINES FOR COMMON TRAFFIC AND STATE LAW VIOLATIONS.  FOR OTHER WINDOW FINES, 
SEE THE “100 MOST COMMON VIOLATIONS” LINK ON THE MUNICIPAL COURT HOME PAGE 

 

CERTAIN CASES CAN BE DISMISSED BY MAIL OR IN PERSON BEFORE YOUR COURT DATE 

The following cases may be dismissed by mail or by personal appearance at the transaction windows of the Municipal Court  
prior to your first court appearance.  If dismissals are sought by mail, return this form with proof and appropriate fine(s). 
 
OFFENSE     PROOF NEEDED     FINE/FEE 

Financial Responsibility (Insurance)  Insurance card or policy valid at the time of citation   -0-  
No Driver’s License   Proof of driver’s license valid at the time of citation   $10.00 
Expired Registration   Renewal with proof of payment of late fee, if any   $20.00 
Expired Driver’s License   Renewal       $20.00  
Name/Address Change D.P.S.  Correction       $20.00  

All other cases (including equipment violations) may be dismissed only with the State’s recommendation. 

Speeding 10 m.p.h. or less over limit  ……… $225.00 Cutting a Corner ……… $225.00  

ADD $5.00 for every 1 m.p.h. over 10 up to  ……… $334.00  Seat Belt Violation  (15 years and over) ………   $180.00  

Speeding in School Zone 10 m.p.h. or less over limit  ……… $270.00  
  
Allow a Child to Ride Without Safety Belt ……… $225.00  

ADD $5.00 for every 1 m.p.h. over 10 up to  ……… $359.00  Safety Seat Violations ……… $240.00  

Use of Handheld Device in School Zone  ……… $270.00  Turn Signal Violations  ……… $225.00  

Failure to Control Speed  ……… $225.00  Lane Change Violation ……… $225.00  

Red Light Violation   ……… $270.00  Defective Equipment and Window Tint ……… $225.00  

Stop Sign Violation   ……… $270.00  Passing a School Bus ……… $800.00 

Failure to Obey Other Traffic Control  Device  ……… $225.00  No/Expired Registration or License Plates ……… $225.00 

Driving with an Invalid/Suspended Driver’s License ……… $375.00 Electronic Messaging (Texting) While Driving ……… $225.00  

All other Driver's License Violations  ……… $225.00  Following Too Closely ……… $225.00  

Fail to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle (Police/Fire/ 
EMS/Ambulance) ……… $300.00  Fail to Notify D.P.S. of Name/Address Change ……… $225.00  

Fail to Yield Right of Way to Other than an  
Emergency Vehicle ……… $225.00 Fail to Appear in Court ……… $375.00 

Establish Financial Responsibility(No Insurance) ……… $370.00 Fail to Drive in a Single Lane  ……… $225.00 

Pasadena Municipal Court 

P.O. Box: 1575 

Pasadena, TX 77501 
https://www.pasadenatx.gov/ 

 



 
INFORMATION ABOUT AND APPLICATION FOR DRIVING SAFETY COURSE  

 

The law requires the court to advise persons charged with certain misdemeanors under Subtitle C, Title 7, Transportation Code and committed 
while operating a motor vehicle of their right to successfully complete a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course.  To be 
eligible to apply for the course, you must not have completed an approved driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course within 
the 12 months preceding the date of the offense and must fully comply with the terms of the application below.  The course is not available 
for dismissal of violations of law relating to insurance, driver’s license, license plates, speeding 25 m.p.h. or more over the posted 
limit, speeding 95 m.p.h. or more, passing a school bus, reckless driving, fleeing a peace office, failure to stop and give information, 
failure to stop and render aid, violations occurring in a construction zone when workers were present or other serious traffic 
violations.  You are also not eligible if you are now or were at the time you were cited the holder of a commercial driver’s license. 

You may qualify for a driving course by mailing the application and unsworn declaration found below fully completed by certified mail, return 
receipt requested to Pasadena Municipal court, P.O. Box 1575, Pasadena, Texas 77501-1575 postmarked on or before the court date on your 
ticket OR by applying in person at the Court’s transaction windows.  Your application and affidavit must be accompanied by a check or money 
order in the amount stated in the application.   Cash payment can be accepted only when an application is made in person.   Upon receipt of a 
completed application, verification of license and insurance information and payment the appropriate fee and costs, you will be sent further 
instructions by the Court. DO NOT TAKE THE COURSE UNTIL YOU ARE AUTHORIZED TO DO SO BY THE COURT.  The court costs and 

fee are not refundable.  In addition to the court costs that are due with this application, you will also be responsible to pay the fees charged by 
the driving school and pay for the cost of your driving record as well.  Information regarding how to obtain a driving record will be returned to 
you by the court.  Only driving safety programs approved by the Texas Department of licensing and Regulation will be accepted by the court.  
If you complete the driving safety course within the time required and return the certificate together with a copy of your driving record to the 
court, the charge against you will be dismissed and the court will report to the Department of Public Safety the completion date of the driving 
safety course for inclusion in your driving record.  If you should fail to present proof of completion of the driving safety course together with a 
copy of your driving record within the time prescribed, the court will summon you to appear and show cause why a final judgment should not 
be entered and a conviction reported to the Department of Public Safety. To request a driving safety course, please complete the 
application and unsworn declaration found below.   

 
APPLICATION 

 
DO NOT TAKE THE COURSE UNTIL THIS APPLICATION HAS BEEN APPROVED 

 
Printed Name:_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Printed Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Date of Birth:________________ Texas Driver’s License:  __________________________Citation Number:__________________ 

 
I hereby waive my right to a jury trial, and to discovery, and plead no contest to the charge of ___________________________________ 
and elect to take a driving safety course.  I understand that I must: 

  
 1. Present to the court a valid Texas driver's license or permit unless I am active duty military or a military dependant.  A copy of 

my driver’s license is enclosed; 
 2. Present to the court proof of current financial responsibility (automobile liability insurance). I understand that my name must 

appear on the policy or identification card. A copy of my proof is enclosed; 

 3. Pay court cost and reimbursement fee of $144.00 for cases not in school zones.  Pay $169.00 for cases in school zones. 
Payment is enclosed.   

 
AFTER MY APPLICATION IS APPROVED, I MUST: 

  
 4. Return to the court a certified copy of my driving record from the Department of Public Safety showing that I have not completed 

an approved program within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense.  This must be done within 90 days from the 
date that the court approves this application; and, 

 5. Return to the court a certificate of driving safety course completion from a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
approved course.  This must be done within 90 days from the date that the court approves this application. 

  
                PLEASE RETURN THE SIGNED CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION AND DRIVING RECORD TOGETHER. 

   
UNSWORN DECLARATION 

 
My name is:_______________________________________________________.  My date of birth is: ______________________ 
  (First)               (Middle)                   (Last) 
and my address is:______________________________________________________________________ and _______________. 
   (Street)         (City)  (State)              (Zip Code)  (Country) 
I declare under penalty of perjury that on the date of my request for a driving safety course/motorcycle operator training course in the above-
numbered cause that I was not taking such a course nor had I completed one within the 12 months preceding the date of my current offense 
that is not shown on my driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (or as maintained by the state that issued my 
driver’s license if I am on active military duty or the dependent of a person on active military duty). 
Executed in _______County, State of _______on the ______day of ___________,20___. 
 

_______________________ 
Declarant 


