Achieve a minimum passing score of seventy (70) percent on the written exam.
Successfully complete the physical fitness test as prescribed by the Pasadena Police Department by demonstrating the applicant is physically capable of performing the essential job function for the position of police officer.
Successfully complete a thorough background investigation, including fingerprints for a criminal record check and a polygraph examination.
Be a United States citizen by birth or naturalization.
Successfully complete a (1) a post-job offer psychological exam and (2) pass a medical exam including a visual acuity test (eye exam) and (3) a drug test.
You must be at least 21 years of age and less than 44 years of age at the time of licensing.
Be a graduate of an accredited high school or home school; or have an equivalent certificate (GED) and have completed 12 or more hours of college credit (C average or better) from an accredited college or university.
Have a valid Texas or out of state drivers license that is not in jeopardy or suspension or revocation at the time of application and maintained as such throughout the hiring process.
Be able to read, write and speak the English language fluently.
Be of good moral character.
Meet all licensing requirements established by current TCOLE Rules.
Shall not be prohibited from carrying or purchasing a firearm or ammunition.
Applicants must successfully pass the police officer Physical Agility Test to continue in the hiring process. Prior to taking the physical agility test, you will be required to submit a completed and signed Physical Agility Test Consent Form attesting to your ability to participate in the test. Click the link below to download this form.
The physical agility test consists of two events - a timed 1.5-mile run and a 500-meter row sprint. The scores from both tests will be averaged for a total physical readiness test score. The total score average for both events must be at the minimum 50th percentile or above in your age and gender class to be considered a passing score. You can review the charts below to find your minimum standard.
Additional Minimum Eligibility Requirements for Lateral Entry Police Officers
Prior to the Civil Service testing date, the applicant must have attended and successfully completed a Texas State approved Basic Police Officer Course as well as passed the Texas State TCOLE license examination.
Applicants with at least three years of continuous service as a paid, full-time certified police officer, with a comparable law enforcement agency, including out of state agencies, as approved by the Chief of Police, may be compensated at the equivalent pay rate of their years of service up to five years on the current approved pay scale.
Certified out of state applicants must have successfully challenged TCOLE prior to the Civil Service examination.
Applicants who qualify for lateral pay will not receive the hiring bonus.